Mountain View Appliance Service

Interview and photo shoot with owner Mark Atkinson of Mountain View Appliance Service for Rapid River Magazine. To be published September 2012.

Mountain View Appliance Service, partnered by Mark Atkinson and Elva Woody and fairly new to the Clyde area, specializes in parts and repair on larger home appliances. Mark Atkinson talks to Rapid River Magazine about his business in fixing up broken machines and lifting spirits at his church next door.

Rapid River Magazine: How did you get started in the appliance business?
Mark Atkinson:
I worked for Century Appliance for about eight and a half years and that’s how a lot of people came to know me, so we just decided to go ahead and open up our own business. We opened about the middle of October 2011.

RRM: Tell me about the church next door? I see you’re the pastor.
MA:
I used to pastor Camp Branch for about six and a half years, then I went down to another church and helped them for just a few months and everyone said, “Let’s just open up our own.” So we turned the Laundromat next door into a church in three days. I’ve been preaching for a total of twenty-four years. The church is only three weeks old; we’ve got a following of about fifty, thirty-five official members. We just bought a piano and a drum set last week. I play the guitar, the bass, I sing, and I’m taking piano lessons right now. We’re hoping within a year, year and a half, we can buy ourselves a church. Some of the customers started coming to the church once they find out it’s there.

RRM: So when did you start learning how to fix appliances (before Century and MVA)?
MA:
I used to own my own automotive shop. I worked on cars, painted them, and restored old cars. I still do that just on the side right now. I was told that if I was good at fixing up cars, I’d be great at appliances so I closed my shop down. Six months later I was out on my own with appliances.

RRM: What do you like best about your job?
MA:
I get to meet a whole lot of great people and got to keep some of the old customers I had. I have customers right now who won’t call anyone else. I had a woman who’s dryer was broken and she calls up Century asking for me. She was looking for me and two days later she finds me. Stuff like that says a lot. When people wait to find me, that’s impressive. I have a very loyal customer base, not even a year into it (the business).

RRM: So, when someone needs help, what are the steps?
MA:
I do five counties, Haywood, Jackson, Swaine, Buncombe, and Henderson. Sometimes I’ll go out to Transylvania. For the “main” counties, Haywood, Jackson Swaine, and Buncombe, my service rate is $50. Then around Henderson, Transylvania, Jackson area, I go up $15. Labor is $25 for the first hour. If it goes into the second hour and I’m still working rates go up to $30, plus the price of parts on that. Average cost when I fix something it ends up around $75 plus the parts. If I go out and don’t fix, just the service call fee is required.

RRM: Do you deal with used appliances?
MA:
Yes, I’ll buy used appliances and fix them up for resale. I’m a bit low right now, but once we had a full house and it was gone in a matter of days. I just take my chances and try to figure out what’s wrong. If I can’t, I’ll just take out the parts and use those when I can. I also sell the parts.

Mark Atkinson, owner of Mountain View Appliance Service and pastor of the non-denominational church right next door, is here to help. Whether it’s a fridge or a heart, Mark’s an all-around guy. He even keeps up a 24-hour emergency line. Call his office at (828)-565-0371, the emergency number at (828)-646-7422, email mntviewappl@hotmail.com, or stop by 93 Jones Cove Road, Clyde, NC 28721. The office opens at 8am Monday – Friday and closes when the work is done.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Link to official published work here. (p.26, right)

Leave a comment